Godlike Productions - Discussion Forum
Users Online Now: 2,008 (Who's On?)Visitors Today: 507,876
Pageviews Today: 808,537Threads Today: 331Posts Today: 5,038
08:46 AM

Rate this Thread

Absolute BS Crap Reasonable Nice Amazing

Drug Shortages Compromise Medical Care, getting steadily worse..

Muzzle
Offer Upgrade

User ID: 16853162
United States
06/05/2012 01:29 PM
Report Abusive Post
Report Copyright Violation
Drug Shortages Compromise Medical Care, getting steadily worse..
[link to www.forbes.com]

"The recent shortages of routine medications in emergency departments has been a growing problem over the past several months. As a practicing emergency physician, I can attest to the fact that when I take care of patients with migraine headaches, alcohol withdrawal, and seizures, the standard medications are not always available. The medications that we typically work with on a daily basis have been hard to come by over the past year.

This problem is ultimately rooted in the financial incentives of the pharmaceutical companies. The medications typically in short supply are generally low cost drugs such as morphine sulfate, zofran, compazine, reglan, ativan and valium.. The shortages often involve injectable drugs which are more technically difficult to manufacture than oral medications. In a nutshell, generic drugs which are off patent that are costly to produce, but usually cheap to purchase, are generally the medications in short supply."
++++++++

The problem has been going on for several years, and has reached the point where long delays in getting commonly used medications occurs constantly, both in the ER and on the ambulance services.
I think there is something else besides "low profit margins" going on. Perhaps storage in DUMBs for possible use by the "elite"? Any other thoughts?