Back to Forum
Back to Forum
Back to Thread
Back to Thread
REPLY TO THREAD
Subject Unions are not all that bad.
User Name

Font color:  Font:

In accordance with industry accepted best practices we ask that users limit their copy / paste of copyrighted material to the relevant portions of the article you wish to discuss and no more than 50% of the source material, provide a link back to the original article and provide your original comments / criticism in your post with the article.
Original Message I am a Union Carpenter. I live and work in Florida. Very thin on union work around here. I was a Carpenter before I joined the Union. I have a very strong work ethic, I always have. Before I joined the Union I felt as tough I was being taken advantage of constantly. I worked more than 50 hours a week frequently and without overtime because I worked for more than one contractor. I could barely survive. I don't have any drug or alcohol addiction/habit/affinity. I am not a gambler. I have always been fiscally responsible. I just couldn't seem to make more than 10-13$/hr. I am a master acoustical ceiling hanger, I am a master at framing and hanging dry wall. I am a master stair builder. I can cope the most intricate trim/crown/chair/base moulding to where one coat of paint would cover any gaps. With all of these in demand skills and all of tools to do any one of them I could not seem to break through that 13$/hour ceiling.

The other part to the story is that during that time was going to college where ever I could seem to fit it in edgewise. I successfully completed an AA degree. Being broke and saddled with debt and still virtually nothing to show for previous 6 years I gave up. Sold everything. Got a crap job in a data center for 13$/hr . Non union sitting in a very heavily air conditioned basically sterile environment doing basically nothing but babysitting some mainframes a tape backups.