Godlike Productions - Conspiracy Forum
Users Online Now: 1,863 (Who's On?)Visitors Today: 147,115
Pageviews Today: 195,355Threads Today: 42Posts Today: 868
01:20 AM


Rate this Thread

Absolute BS Crap Reasonable Nice Amazing
 

Ravens Robbed!

 
Anonymous Coward
User ID: 8629692
United States
01/22/2012 09:51 PM
Report Abusive Post
Report Copyright Violation
Re: Ravens Robbed!
If that was a reception, what the hell was Calvin Johnson's catch last year against the Bears? That play clearly stated and defined what a touchdown is (or isn't). Sorry about your luck - see the Ravens next year. FTR, Billy Cundiff missing a 30 yarder is what lost that game for Baltimore. Their defense would have held off the Patriots in OT.
blesseddrifter
User ID: 9394175
United States
01/23/2012 02:09 AM
Report Abusive Post
Report Copyright Violation
Re: Ravens Robbed!
A lot ignorant folks on here. Evans had himself a TD and it was stolen from him. Watch the replay and see that he not only catches the ball, but he pulled it into his body and it was secure. I don't recall a time limit for a receiver to have the ball while in the plain of the enzone. He then turns his body which is a football move that the rule defines. I don't see any reason for a football move in the endzone, but Evans had the ball tight against his body when it was knocke out. He had possesion of the football. If Tom Brady does his sky dive QB sneak with the ball stretched out, and it gets knocked out after he crosses the plane of the endzone is it a fumble? No it is not. The Ravens should get the same respect. If that was an incomplete pass, I'll not only eat crow, but throw in a toad with it.
Anonymous Coward
User ID: 9394175
United States
01/23/2012 02:15 AM
Report Abusive Post
Report Copyright Violation
Re: Ravens Robbed!
He never caught the ball it was hit out of his hands.

If that play had been made on the field no discussion. You got to maintain possession through and make a move.

Didn't do it.

Great game by Ravens though.
 Quoting: John Goz



He did catch the ball and pulled it into his body and turned slightly which is a football move by rule definition, then it was knocked out. I don't know of any time limit a player must maintain the ball in the endzone.
HANGFIRE (OP)

User ID: 9334044
United States
01/23/2012 02:30 AM
Report Abusive Post
Report Copyright Violation
Re: Ravens Robbed!
rantAnd another thing, who got Screech to sing the National Anthem? That was obscene and I should've known the officiating would be as retarded.rant
Zurvan

User ID: 9125132
United States
01/23/2012 03:07 AM
Report Abusive Post
Report Copyright Violation
Re: Ravens Robbed!
You have to make a "football move" after catching the ball and before losing the ball. Good call.
 Quoting: Anonymous Coward 7386365


Not in the endzone.

If you catch the ball in the green you can score a TD simply by having possession and breaking the plane with the ball.

Furthermore, if you catch the ball in the endzone and your feet touch the grass it's a TD without making a move as long as part of both of your shoes touch the grass after you catch it and you don't drop it (unless "down by contact").

Last Edited by Mastema on 01/23/2012 03:08 AM
“If we could change ourselves, the tendencies in the world would also change. As a man changes his own nature, so does the attitude of the world change towards him. ... We need not wait to see what others do.” -Mahatma Ghandi
HANGFIRE (OP)

User ID: 9334044
United States
01/23/2012 03:09 AM
Report Abusive Post
Report Copyright Violation
Re: Ravens Robbed!
You have to make a "football move" after catching the ball and before losing the ball. Good call.
 Quoting: Anonymous Coward 7386365


Not in the endzone.

If you catch the ball in the green you can score a TD simply by having possession and breaking the plane with the ball.

Furthermore, if you catch the ball in the endzone and your feet touch the grass it's a TD without making a move as long as part of both of your shoes touch the grass after you catch it and you don't drop it (unless "down by contact").
 Quoting: Zurvan


THIS^^
Zurvan

User ID: 9125132
United States
01/23/2012 03:17 AM
Report Abusive Post
Report Copyright Violation
Re: Ravens Robbed!
You have to make a "football move" after catching the ball and before losing the ball. Good call.
 Quoting: Anonymous Coward 7386365


Not in the endzone.

If you catch the ball in the green you can score a TD simply by having possession and breaking the plane with the ball.

Furthermore, if you catch the ball in the endzone and your feet touch the grass it's a TD without making a move as long as part of both of your shoes touch the grass after you catch it and you don't drop it (unless "down by contact").
 Quoting: Zurvan


THIS^^
 Quoting: HANGFIRE


5a
“If we could change ourselves, the tendencies in the world would also change. As a man changes his own nature, so does the attitude of the world change towards him. ... We need not wait to see what others do.” -Mahatma Ghandi
Zurvan

User ID: 9125132
United States
01/23/2012 03:19 AM
Report Abusive Post
Report Copyright Violation
Re: Ravens Robbed!
Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 3: “If a player controls the ball while in the end zone, both feet, or any part of his body other than his hands, must be completely on the ground before losing control, or the pass is incomplete.”

Last Edited by Mastema on 01/23/2012 03:41 AM
“If we could change ourselves, the tendencies in the world would also change. As a man changes his own nature, so does the attitude of the world change towards him. ... We need not wait to see what others do.” -Mahatma Ghandi
HANGFIRE (OP)

User ID: 9334044
United States
01/23/2012 03:28 AM
Report Abusive Post
Report Copyright Violation
Re: Ravens Robbed!
Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 3: “If a player controls the ball while in the end zone, both feet, or any part of his body other than his hands, must be completely on the ground before losing control, or the pass is incomplete.”

Touchdown, Evans!

5a
 Quoting: Zurvan


5a5a
Zurvan

User ID: 9125132
United States
01/23/2012 03:33 AM
Report Abusive Post
Report Copyright Violation
Re: Ravens Robbed!
Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 3: “If a player controls the ball while in the end zone, both feet, or any part of his body other than his hands, must be completely on the ground before losing control, or the pass is incomplete.”

Touchdown, Evans!

5a
 Quoting: Zurvan


5a5a
 Quoting: HANGFIRE


WRONG!

“The ruling on the field of an incomplete pass was confirmed by the Instant Replay assistant, correctly, and as a result, there was no need to stop the game,” the league said in a statement forwarded to PFT by spokesman Michael Signora. “The receiver did not get his second foot down in the end zone with possession, and as a result, it was an incomplete pass.”

Former V.P. of officiating and current FOX rules analyst Mike Pereira expressed a similar sentiment via text message to PFT. “Clearly not a catch,” Pereira said. “Ball coming out before second foot clearly down. . . . No need to review it because it was clearly incomplete.”

NO TOUCHDOWN!

NO TOUCHDOWN!

NO TOUCHDOWN!!!!!!


5a5a5a

Guess that's what I get for not watching the play.

OP DECEIVED ME!

bsmeter

Last Edited by Mastema on 01/23/2012 03:36 AM
“If we could change ourselves, the tendencies in the world would also change. As a man changes his own nature, so does the attitude of the world change towards him. ... We need not wait to see what others do.” -Mahatma Ghandi
HANGFIRE (OP)

User ID: 9334044
United States
01/23/2012 04:01 AM
Report Abusive Post
Report Copyright Violation
Re: Ravens Robbed!
Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 3: “If a player controls the ball while in the end zone, both feet, or any part of his body other than his hands, must be completely on the ground before losing control, or the pass is incomplete.”

Touchdown, Evans!

5a
 Quoting: Zurvan


5a5a
 Quoting: HANGFIRE


WRONG!

“The ruling on the field of an incomplete pass was confirmed by the Instant Replay assistant, correctly, and as a result, there was no need to stop the game,” the league said in a statement forwarded to PFT by spokesman Michael Signora. “The receiver did not get his second foot down in the end zone with possession, and as a result, it was an incomplete pass.”

Former V.P. of officiating and current FOX rules analyst Mike Pereira expressed a similar sentiment via text message to PFT. “Clearly not a catch,” Pereira said. “Ball coming out before second foot clearly down. . . . No need to review it because it was clearly incomplete.”

NO TOUCHDOWN!

NO TOUCHDOWN!

NO TOUCHDOWN!!!!!!


5a5a5a

Guess that's what I get for not watching the play.

OP DECEIVED ME!

bsmeter
 Quoting: Zurvan


His other foot is down!
HANGFIRE (OP)

User ID: 9334044
United States
01/23/2012 04:05 AM
Report Abusive Post
Report Copyright Violation
Re: Ravens Robbed!
The New England Patriots have fraudulently advanced to the Super Bowl! They will lose.
Anonymous Coward
User ID: 9578487
United States
01/25/2012 05:35 PM
Report Abusive Post
Report Copyright Violation
Re: Ravens Robbed!
His second foot never touched the ground. Evans never pulled the ball closer to him when he caught it. And no, it was not a pass interference cuz Sterling smacked the ball after Evans caught it. Not interfering with anything. You can't throw a challenge flag after the 2 minute warning. And since it wasn't ruled a touchdown in the first place there was no need for the booth to review it. Should it have been reviewed? Probably. But like I said since it wasn't ruled a touchdown in the first place the booth felt like they didn't need to.
saints fan weighs in
User ID: 9604734
United States
01/26/2012 01:48 AM
Report Abusive Post
Report Copyright Violation
Re: Ravens Robbed!
I am a Saints Fan ..and had same question...I thought Ravens robbed too... Clearly looked to me like clear possession then stripped yet such = TD as I Appreciate it too..also can't believe: not reviewed AND announcers did not seem to question either... Smthg weird there??

News