Back to Forum
Back to Forum
Back to Thread
Back to Thread
REPLY TO THREAD
Subject The Events of 9/11 From a Professional Pilot's point of view
User Name

Font color:  Font:

In accordance with industry accepted best practices we ask that users limit their copy / paste of copyrighted material to the relevant portions of the article you wish to discuss and no more than 50% of the source material, provide a link back to the original article and provide your original comments / criticism in your post with the article.
Original Message As some of my GLP family knows I have been a commercial pilot for 30 years now. I have been in aviation management for 25 of those years.

In 2001, I was Chief Pilot and Check Airman for a small charter airline (5 B737 aircraft) based in the western US. In September of that year I had just hired a new class of 8 pilots and, having already trained them in their basic indoc and ground portion of the airline training syllabus, had flown them to Phoenix for their simulator training.

On the morning of Sep 11th I was in the middle of training session 3 with an upgrading Captain and a new-hire First Officer. We had come out of the simulator for our mid-session break to piss, have a cup of coffee and swap seats when we saw the pilots that were training in the other simulator (who were also on their break) huddled around a TV set in the briefing room. One of the pilots turned around and, with a solemn look, told us that an airplane had crashed into the World Trade Center. Behind him on the TV was the smoking tower with a frantic commentator rambling about whether or not it was terrorism.

I won't bore you with the rest of the details, but suffice it to say that I knew that there would not be any new class of pilots hired. They knew it too.